What does this tool do?

When you share something on social media apps (Tiktok, Instagram etc.), the links that are copied to your clipboard for you to share have some tracking information attached to them and are associated with your account. This tracking information can reveal your identity when someone uses the links you have shared, and can also be used by social media platforms to track you across the internet.

This tool truncates the said tracking information from the links that you share so that they are no longer associated with your account.

Which apps are supported?

The following social media apps are supported by the tool:

How do apps track me?

When you share something in a social media app, the generated link usually has some tracking information attached to it. Social media platforms use this kind of tracking information to establish connections between people who share things with each other.

For example, when someone visits a link to an Instagram reel that you've shared, they will see that it was you who originally shared the reel. Moreover, Instagram will, under the hood, establish a connection between you and the person who visited the link and later show you in their 'Suggested for you' section (and vice versa).

This sort of tracking is by no means restricted to Instagram, and almost all social media platforms use similar technologies to track you.

How does this tool get rid of trackers?

A typical link to a reel generated by Instagram looks like this:

https://www.instagram.com/reel/AbCDEfGHIjk/?igsh=LmnopQRstuVwxyzabC==

The underlined part of the above link is used merely for tracking and can safely be stripped off, which is exactly what this tool does.

Other platforms like Tiktok are more 'stealthy' and generate links that do not look like they have trackers, when in reality they do. Here's a typical link to a TikTok generated by the app:

https://vt.tiktok.com/AbCdEfghi/

This link may look 'clean' at a glance (compared to the link above generated by Instagram), but when you go by this link, it redirects you to another URL that looks like this:

https://www.tiktok.com/@username/video/1234567890987654321?_t=AbCDefGhiJk&_r=1

The underlined part in the 'final' link above is, again, a tracker that may give away your identity. This tool does the tedious job of going by the link and then stripping off the tracking part for you.

This tool works in a similar fashion for all the other supported social media platforms, stripping off the tracking information from the links that you paste and copying the updated non-tracking link to your clipboard.

Known limitations

Telemetry Disclosure

This tool collects anonymous usage information via Google Analytics to help make it even better for you.

Only the names of supported services used are collected — your pasted links remain private and are never shared.

You can opt out of telemetry collection by .